Florida Premarital Course Online
The Premarital Course Center is a non-profit organization that focuses its resources on providing education, enrichment, and counseling solutions to families and couples.
Florida Premarital Preparation Course Requirements
After the wedding is over, the marriage begins, and keeping it going can be hard work. Florida recognizes the challenges that married couples face and wants to support the success of these relationships. For this reason, the Florida Premarital Preparation Course Statute was created and couples who complete this special course not only have a better foundation for their marriage but also receive a reduction in the marriage fee by $32.50.
Children and parenting responsibilities.
Intimacy & Sex
You must take a course with a minimum of (4) hours of instruction to qualify for the benefits under this statute.
Recognizing that adults have demanding schedules and so there are many options available to take and complete this course. These options include:
Direct personal instruction by virtual means;
Instruction via other electronic media; or
A combination of these methods.
Couples can also choose to take these courses together or individually, as best meets their needs. Each person must complete the course and receive a certificate of completion from the instructor before going to the County Clerk for their marriage license.
There are several qualified instructors who can provide this course, but they must be registered with a judicial circuit (county courthouse) for their program to qualify under this statute. Instructors can include:
A mental health counselor licensed under chapter 491
A psychologist licensed under chapter 490
A clinical social worker licensed under chapter 491
A marriage and family therapist licensed under chapter 491
A representative of a religious institution recognized under s. 496.404(19), if the representative has relevant training
Finding an Instructor
Every judicial circuit maintains a roster of qualified instructors. This information includes:
Type of course, such as video, in person, etc.
Cost of the course.
When a couple has completed the course, each one will receive a certificate of completion that states:
Date of Completion
Course Structure, i.e. video, electronic, in person or combination.
When both parties have completed the course, they qualify for the $32.50 reduction in the state marriage license fee and a waiver for the 3 day waiting period.
Our instructors have been honored to serve their communities for over twenty-eight years. Their educational portfolios extend from degrees in Business Administration, Microbiology, Masters in Marketing and a Theological Ordination in Mentorship, Christian doctrine, Discipleship Coaching, Biblical interpretation techniques, and ministry strategies.
Our professionals have also achieved Licenses and Certification status with various State and National juridical Organizations such as the Board Department of Orthotics & Prosthetics, International Conference of Police Chaplains, Florida Department of Financial Services, Certified Safety Management, and Certified Premarital Course Provider.
Florida Approved County List
Download and print immediately upon completion of our 4hr course.